The Major Arcana

What is the Major Arcana?

By Julia

The Fool

The major arcana are the first 22 cards in a standard tarot deck.

Each card depicts a scene. Starting with the fool and ending with The World.

As far as anyone can tell the Tarot deck started as a card game of trumps and suits.

The major arcana being the trump cards.

Michael Dummett of the UK wrote that he could not find the tarot deck used as a spiritual guide until after the 18th century.

In 1781 Antione Court de Gebelin wrote in his Le Monde primitive, a whole chapter on Tarot. He understood that the Major Arcana was a journey through life.

Today the Major Arcana is a journey through life and help you grow on your spiritual path.

It starts with the 0-card known as the fool. The fool travels through each card learning along the way until the final card number 22 the World.


If you haven’t a deck yet I encourage you to buy one and take the steps of the tarot one card at a time and enjoy the journey to self-discovery.

I will be offering a one on one class “A Journey through the Major Arcana”.

We will start as the fool and go along at your speed through the 22 cards of the Major Arcana.

Leave a Reply